Page 1 of 1

TRACE I does not seem to work.

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 1:54 pm
by Sandy
Hi,

I have written a REXX code which I want to debug. I used TRACE I but for some reason it does not seem to work. I mean when I execute the code it does not go in tracer? What can be the reason?

Re: TRACE I does not seem to work.

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:04 pm
by enrico-sorichetti
What can be the reason?
Obviously You made a mistake somewhere

If You want good answers You must learn to ask good questions
You just whined that something did not go the way You wanted

post something useful and probably You will get a useful answer

Re: TRACE I does not seem to work.

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:20 am
by Sandy
My REXX is an edit macro and I have used the TRACE I like this:

Code: Select all

/* REXX EDIT MACRO                                              */
/* EXPAND ALL COPY STATEMENTS IN A COBOL PROGRAM                */
TRACE I                                                           
ADDRESS ISREDIT                                                   
"MACRO PROCESS"                                                   
/* ============================================================ */
..
There is more code after that.

Re: TRACE I does not seem to work.

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:47 pm
by prino
Use

Code: Select all

trace ?i
and drown in messages. Better use

Code: Select all

trace ?r

Re: TRACE I does not seem to work.

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:16 pm
by Sandy
Thank you prino. How could I overlook that! :oops:

Re: TRACE I does not seem to work.

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:32 am
by Sandy
prino wrote: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:47 pmUse Code: Select alltrace ?i

and drown in messages. Better use
How do I stop these message if mistakenly done that? Attention key does help in this.

Re: TRACE I does not seem to work.

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:56 pm
by nicc
The iscussion on Trace in the manual tells you how to stop tracing during execution.