Page 1 of 1

Can COBOL call DB2 and adabas in the same program?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:14 pm
by AnandRao
Hi,

We are creating a design spec. The new design will require some new DB2 queries to be written. The problem is we have some program changes, with this new design which will make use of some of the information from adabas database too. Question is, is it possible for a COBOL program to contain both ADABAS and DB2 CALLs? If so is possible, how to compile the program?

Thanks,

Re: Can COBOL call DB2 and adabas in the same program?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 8:43 pm
by nicc
Have you checked with your Adabas support? Have you checked the Adabas manuals? Have you checked with the vendor?

Re: Can COBOL call DB2 and adabas in the same program?

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:09 am
by Robert Sample
A Google search found some hits indicating that it is possible for ADABAS and DB2 to be used in the same COBOL program. You would do well to talk to both vendors, however, about what you want to do as they should be able to tell you of any quirks in doing this type of program.

Re: Can COBOL call DB2 and adabas in the same program?

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:15 pm
by Anuj Dhawan
That's possible to have CALLs to ADABAS and DB2 from a COBOL program. ADABAS is well developed database system and as such can be accessed from most (all?) of the programming languages.

You'd need to provide the JCL with appropriate libraries. However based on your shop's setup there can be a specific way to write such a JCL, for which, as has been suggested already, you should touch base with the ADABAS support at your shop.