Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Virtual Storage Access method - ESDS, KSDS, RRDS & LDS. Basic direct access method, Basic sequential -, Queued sequential -, Basic partitioned -, Indexed sequential -, Object - access method.
Post Reply
Kotak
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Kotak »

Hello All,

In my office we are doing a "cost saving" activity. One of the activity which came to me is like that employees here can create new dataset using their mainframe IDs; I have to create the list of all such datasets. If any one have any example using which it can become easy please let me know.

It will really be a great help.
User avatar
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1886
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
United States of America

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Robert Sample »

ISPF 3.4 will do it, if you have a list of the user ids or if there is a pool of disk volumes for user data sets. DCOLLECT will do it but will require manipulation of the output to remove non-user id data sets (unless there is a pool of disk volumes).
nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 691
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by nicc »

You have posted under IMS so are you really asking about personal IMS databases or are you talking about all personal data sets?
Regards
Nic
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Along with what Robert has said, this might also help you:

Code: Select all

//STEP10  EXEC PGM=IKJEFT1A                       
//SYSPROC   DD DSN=SYS1.SAMPLIB,DISP=SHR         
//SYSTSPRT  DD DSN=...list,             
//             DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),           
//             UNIT=DISK,SPACE=(CYL,(10,10),RLSE),
//             DCB=(RECFM=FB,LRECL=133,BLKSIZE=0)
//SYSTSIN   DD *                                 
%IGGCSIRX                                         
HLQ.*
/*                                               
// 
Where HLQ is the High Level Qualifier you want to search on or the mainframe ID in your case.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Kotak
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Kotak »

Robert Sample wrote: ISPF 3.4 will do it, if you have a list of the user ids or if there is a pool of disk volumes for user data sets. DCOLLECT will do it but will require manipulation of the output to remove non-user id data sets (unless there is a pool of disk volumes).
Can we save the list shown in the ISPF 3.4?
Kotak
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Kotak »

nicc wrote: You have posted under IMS so are you really asking about personal IMS databases or are you talking about all personal data sets?
Sorry, by mistake it is posted here. Where should I post it again?
enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by enrico-sorichetti »

moved
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Kotak wrote: Sorry, by mistake it is posted here. Where should I post it again?
Please don't post it in any part of the Forum, a moderator can move it for you (as done by Enrico here).
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
User avatar
vasanthz
Registered Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by vasanthz »

Can we save the list shown in the ISPF 3.4?
1. After you bring up the list of datasets, on the command line issue the command SAVE followed by any word, example

Code: Select all

SAVE DOGE
2. You will get a message on the right top "Data set list saved"
Hit PF1 key, ISPF would tell you where the list of datasets are saved.

Code: Select all

  The listing of data sets was placed in 'WELLS.DOGE.DATASETS' 
3. ????
4. Profit
Regards,
Vasanth.S
Kotak
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Kotak »

enrico-sorichetti wrote: moved
Thanks enrico.
Kotak
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Kotak »

Anuj Dhawan wrote:
Kotak wrote: Sorry, by mistake it is posted here. Where should I post it again?
Please don't post it in any part of the Forum, a moderator can move it for you (as done by Enrico here).
Ok anuj, I won't do that.
Kotak
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Kotak »

Thanks vasanthz.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

vasanthz wrote: 3. ????
4. Profit
Okay a rookie question - what are these two commands for?

PS.: I'm in a role where mainframe' access is not a regular happening in my life.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
User avatar
vasanthz
Registered Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by vasanthz »

step1 step2 ??? profit
It is a meme :-)

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q ... 4024,d.cGc
PS.: I'm in a role where mainframe' access is not a regular happening in my life
That sounds bad or maybe not, hope you are enjoying what you do.
Regards,
Vasanth.S
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

I thought I was getting old as could not recall to use those commands. :)
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
User avatar
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1886
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
United States of America

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Robert Sample »

The meme brings to my mind a question -- the original post was about cost savings. How, exactly, will generating a list of data sets created by each user id lead to savings? And since user id data sets tend to be a small percentage of the total disk space used, is this "cost savings" approach being extended to look at every high level qualifier on the system? Does the site rent / lease their DASD or did they buy it?
Kotak
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: Creating alist of dataset as per mainframe IDs.

Post by Kotak »

Robert Sample wrote: The meme brings to my mind a question -- the original post was about cost savings. How, exactly, will generating a list of data sets created by each user id lead to savings? And since user id data sets tend to be a small percentage of the total disk space used, is this "cost savings" approach being extended to look at every high level qualifier on the system? Does the site rent / lease their DASD or did they buy it?
They have bought mostly but some are on lease also.

Yes, generating a list of the data-sets with each ID we are going to see if they are needed also it's extended to every high level qualifier.
Post Reply

Create an account or sign in to join the discussion

You need to be a member in order to post a reply

Create an account

Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute

Register

Sign in

Return to “SMS & VSAM and BDAM, BSAM, QSAM, BPAM, ISAM, OAM.”