Can CPU Time be converted to MIPS?

How to do Performance analysis and Capacity Planning for a shop. We also talk about Software Cost here.

Topic author
Jyoti Chibber
Registered Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:40 pm

Can CPU Time be converted to MIPS?

Postby Jyoti Chibber » Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:15 am

Hi,

We are doing an exercise in which management is trying save on CPU cost. It is told to somehow equate the CPU Time consumed and get the equivalent MIPS for them. I searched on the google about it. And there more theories I found about it than I could ever think.

We have MXG and so the performance data is available from MXG. We are not sure how can we make use of this data to reach to a MIPS consumption, say by this application and those CICS transactions? Any suggestions on this will be very helpful.




enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 823
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Can CPU Time be converted to MIPS?

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:22 am

Can CPU Time be converted to MIPS?


NO

topic locked to prevent further useless discussion


cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)


Return to “Mainframe Performance, Capacity Planning and Software Cost.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests