PROCOPT=G adn PROCOPT=A in IMS.

IBM's Hierarchical DBMS and Transaction Manager (IMS DC).
Previous topicNext topic

Topic Author
Baskar Ganesan
Registered Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:33 pm

PROCOPT=G adn PROCOPT=A in IMS.

Post by Baskar Ganesan » Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:32 pm

Hi,

When we want to browse an IMS database we code PROCOPT=G in the PCB. What would happen if we are still just browsing a database though have used PROCOPT=A. Why dont we do this?



User avatar

Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2624
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Zodiac: Sagittarius

Re: PROCOPT=G adn PROCOPT=A in IMS.

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:44 pm

The difference lies in locking. With procopt 'A', if you issue GN or GU calls - You may well lock out other applications that are trying to read segments in the same "physical block". OTOH, a procopt of 'G' might lock out update or delete requests but will not lock out reads.

Hope that explains what you need.


Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.


Topic Author
Baskar Ganesan
Registered Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: PROCOPT=G adn PROCOPT=A in IMS.

Post by Baskar Ganesan » Tue Jan 20, 2015 9:15 am

Thanks, this explains it.



User avatar

Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2624
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Zodiac: Sagittarius

Re: PROCOPT=G adn PROCOPT=A in IMS.

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:35 pm

Glad, we had been helpful.


Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.

Previous topicNext topic

Return to “IMS DB/DC.”