Can IMS access DB2.

IBM's Hierarchical DBMS and Transaction Manager (IMS DC).
Previous topicNext topic

Topic Author
Kapil Sharma
Registered Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 1:46 am
Location: India

Can IMS access DB2.

Post by Kapil Sharma » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:46 pm

Hi,

Can and how does IMS access DB2? I've mostly work with only DB2. And I have heard but never got a chance to work with IMS as such but heard that IMS can access DB2 to get the data from DB2 tables but how is it done. Can anyone please help?


Thanks,
Kapil

User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1338
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Can IMS access DB2.

Post by Robert Sample » Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:03 pm

Google is your friend. Googling ims accessing db2 returns about 569,000 hits and one of them on the first page (for me) is:
Db2 11 - Installation and migration - Defining Db2 to IMS - IBM
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... 22ims.html
You can define new programs and transactions that access Db2 resources to your IMS system. The application plan defines the Db2 resources that an application accesses. You must generate a user language interface only if you intend to access two Db2 subsystems from the same dependent region.
So you can use the link and start reading if you want to know more.




Topic Author
Kapil Sharma
Registered Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 1:46 am
Location: India

Re: Can IMS access DB2.

Post by Kapil Sharma » Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:00 pm

Thanks Robert.


Thanks,
Kapil

Previous topicNext topic

Return to “IMS DB/DC.”