On Hercules can we simulate CICS?

This Forum is for the guests or the users who are not registered on this board. This part allows guests to post in.
Previous topicNext topic

Topic Author
Hercules

On Hercules can we simulate CICS?

Post by Hercules » Mon May 18, 2015 11:48 pm

Hi,

On Hercules can we simulate CICS?




enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: On Hercules can we simulate CICS?

Post by enrico-sorichetti » Tue May 19, 2015 2:30 am

hercules is an HARDWARE emulator ...
You will need a full working operating system.
after that any program supported by the operating system running will work.

and it will not be simulated... it will be the real thing.


cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)


Topic Author
Hercules

Re: On Hercules can we simulate CICS?

Post by Hercules » Tue May 19, 2015 12:34 pm

Thanks but I don't quite understand the word "Hardware emulator"?? What is hardware telling me here?
after that any program supported by the operating system running will work.
I think I did not post well previously, I wanted to know that CICS should not be a free product so will I be able to run it even after having the operating system?




enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: On Hercules can we simulate CICS?

Post by enrico-sorichetti » Tue May 19, 2015 12:56 pm

think of Hercules as belonging to the family of virtualizers-hardware emulators ( VMware, Parallels, VirtualBox, ..., ..., ... )

You start VMware, attach a real/virtual cdrom and start the installation of windows, linux, whatever operating system supported

You start hercules, define the appropriate virtual devices with the appropriate disk images of the operating system You are allowed to run
and there You go , You have a mainframe operating system alive and kicking.

unfortunately CICS is not a free product.


cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)


vbcoen
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: On Hercules can we simulate CICS?

Post by vbcoen » Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:32 am

Using the Free Turnkey 4 (to update 7) product which includes kics you can run under Hercules all aspects of the MVS system.



Previous topicNext topic

Return to “You are a Guest.”