What in the heaven Mainframe exactly is?

Other Mainframe related questions which attracts you and there is no suitable Forum you find for it and related FAQs.
Abhishek Awasthi
Registered Member

What in the heaven Mainframe exactly is?

Post by Abhishek Awasthi »

Hi,

I really mean the question. And on my part it is very funny actually. I am a programmer in Mainframe have already learnt maifnrame concepts, learned COBOL, JCL, DB2 and CICS too but I have never really understood what exactly is a mainframe.

And the boaest about it, Mainframes can't be hacked! The question is, "why mainframe can not be hacked?"

What is so special about it? And why it is still being used?
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Re: What in the heaven Mainframe exactly is?

Post by Robert Sample »

To some degree, a mainframe is whatever a vendor declares to be a mainframe. Back in the early days (1960's and 1970's) there were a number of mainframe manufacturers including GE, Univac, Burroughs, NCR, Control Data, and Honeywell. Now, the term "mainframe" typically is applied to system z architecture machines from IBM, although I have seen the term used for Univac machines and IBM's AS/400. Broadly, a mainframe is a system designed for continuous use by hundreds (or thousands) of people simultaneously. It is special because it is widespread (something like 90%+ of Fortune 500 companies have at least one mainframe, and if you use an ATM anywhere in the world, there was, last I heard, a 95% chance that your data would be on a mainframe at some point) and long-lived (the first S360 came out in 1964; it is not unusual for mainframe programs to run 20 or 30 years without updates -- try running a Windows program from 15 years ago and see how far you get).