Question Temporary Data Sets.

All sort of Mainframes Interview Questions.

Topic author
KavalJeet
Registered Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:47 am
Has thanked: 2 times

Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby KavalJeet » Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:12 pm

In a JCL, I've temporary data sets getting created in between. In Step 05, a &&TEMP data set with DISP=(NEW,PASS) is created and is input to step 09 with (OLD, DELETE). If the JCL abends at step 07 and we try to restart the job from step 07, will the temporary data set created previously be existing or should I need to restart the Job from STEP 05? Please help.



Online
User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: East Dubuque Illinois
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 90 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby Robert Sample » Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:30 pm

The temporary data set will not be available after the job completes (whether normal completion or ABEND). Your restart needs to include the step that creates the temporary data set.




Topic author
KavalJeet
Registered Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:47 am
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby KavalJeet » Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:51 pm

Thanks. Can we store the contents of temporary data for some analysis?




nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby nicc » Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:11 pm

Yes - make it a permanent data set - it can be deleted at EOJ.


Regards
Nic

Online
User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: East Dubuque Illinois
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 90 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby Robert Sample » Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:12 pm

Can we store the contents of temporary data for some analysis?
No -- a temporary data set is a data set that goes away at the end of the job -- period. As Nic said, you can change it to a permanent data set which will stay around after the end of the job, but then it is no longer a temporary data set. And a permanent data set will need to meet the site requirements for name, size, and so forth.




Topic author
KavalJeet
Registered Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:47 am
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby KavalJeet » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:00 am

Thanks, got it working. I have allocated dataset and used that.

So can we say theat "temporary" dataset is only meaningful when system is creating them and not a user?




nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby nicc » Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:49 pm

No.


Regards
Nic

Online
User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: East Dubuque Illinois
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 90 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby Robert Sample » Mon Feb 06, 2017 6:30 pm

Temporary data sets can be VASTLY useful for users as well as the system.




Topic author
KavalJeet
Registered Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:47 am
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby KavalJeet » Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:55 pm

I could not tell it well what I wanted to ask but that is fine. Thanks for the answeres.




enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 822
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Question Temporary Data Sets.

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:19 pm

So can we say theat "temporary" dataset is only meaningful when system is creating them and not a user?


NO, but You are mixing up things ...

being temporary is a property of a dataset, as opposed to being permanent full stop

who/what creates them is completely irrelevant to the property

who is the system and who is the user :?:


cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)


Return to “Interview Questions.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests