submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

All sort of Mainframes Interview Questions.
Previous topicNext topic

Topic Author
Niketan
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:07 pm

submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Niketan » Fri Jul 08, 2016 12:18 pm

This is a question I could not fully answer. It had two parts.In first part, interviewer asked me if we can submit a job using COBOL program? And in second I was asked if we can do the same using CICS program too? 

The further question was, what is the way of doing these two?

For COBOL, I replied that we can execute a Job using the utility INTRDR. But I had nothad any idea about running a JCL from CICS. Can we do that, please tell me?



Tags:

User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Robert Sample » Fri Jul 08, 2016 3:18 pm

 For CICS, if a TD queue is defined pointing to the internal reader you can write JCL statements to it.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image



User avatar

Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2612
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Zodiac: Sagittarius

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:01 am

Niketan wrote:For COBOL, I replied that we can execute a Job using the utility INTRDR. But I had nothad any idea about running a JCL from CICS. Can we do that, please tell me?
Just being nitpicky - INTRDR should not be called 'utility' ...or should it be?


Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.

User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Robert Sample » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:28 am

The z/OS JES Application Programming manual refers to it as a "logical device".  I don't think it can really be called a utility since utilities are executable programs and a logical device is not an executable program.



User avatar

Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2612
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Zodiac: Sagittarius

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:42 am

Thanks Robert. It's always fun to have you around! Appreciate your time! :)


Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.


Topic Author
Niketan
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:07 pm

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Niketan » Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:02 pm

Robert Sample wrote: For CICS, if a TD queue is defined pointing to the internal reader you can write JCL statements to it.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Thanks Robert. Can TSQ also be used for the same purpose?




Topic Author
Niketan
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:07 pm

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Niketan » Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:03 pm

Anuj Dhawan wrote:
Niketan wrote:For COBOL, I replied that we can execute a Job using the utility INTRDR. But I had nothad any idea about running a JCL from CICS. Can we do that, please tell me?
Just being nitpicky - INTRDR should not be called 'utility' ...or should it be?
The z/OS JES Application Programming manual refers to it as a "logical device".  I don't think it can really be called a utility since utilities are executable programs and a logical device is not an executable program.
Thanks guys, have not thought it like that.



User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Robert Sample » Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:28 pm

Can TSQ also be used for the same purpose?
No.  A temporary storage queue points to a location in memory -- either main memory or auxiliary memory.  A transient data queue points to a DD name that CICS manages; that DD name is usually DD SYSOUT=(A,INTRDR) to allow internal reader job submission from within CICS.  You could also use EXEC CICS SPOOLOPEN / EXEC CICS SPOOLWRITE / EXEC CICS SPOOLCLOSE to write directly to the JES spool, assuming you're using a reasonably recent version of CICS.




Topic Author
Niketan
Registered Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:07 pm

Re: submit a job using a cobol program and using CICS.

Post by Niketan » Mon Jul 18, 2016 12:42 pm

Robert Sample wrote:
Can TSQ also be used for the same purpose?
No.  A temporary storage queue points to a location in memory -- either main memory or auxiliary memory.  A transient data queue points to a DD name that CICS manages; that DD name is usually DD SYSOUT=(A,INTRDR) to allow internal reader job submission from within CICS.  You could also use EXEC CICS SPOOLOPEN / EXEC CICS SPOOLWRITE / EXEC CICS SPOOLCLOSE to write directly to the JES spool, assuming you're using a reasonably recent version of CICS.
Thanks for the explnation. It is really helpful.



Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Interview Questions.”