Why to give the program name in SYSTSIN.

All sort of Mainframes Interview Questions.
Previous topicNext topic

Topic Author
alpna
Registered Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:35 pm
Zodiac: Virgo

Why to give the program name in SYSTSIN.

Post by alpna » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:39 pm

Hi,

In an interview I got a question that when there is a plan is given why there is need of the program name in the SYSTSIN, when we run the COBOl DB2 program?



User avatar

Akatsukami
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Bloomington, IL

Re: Why to give the program name in SYSTSIN.

Post by Akatsukami » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:21 pm

Note there is no connection between program and plan; specifying a plan name does not indicate what program should use it.


"I come to the conclusion that, men loving according to their own will and fearing according to that of the prince, a wise prince should establish himself on that which is in his own control and not in that of others." -- Niccolò Machiavelli

User avatar

Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Zodiac: Sagittarius

Re: Why to give the program name in SYSTSIN.

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:03 pm

As worded this question makes very little sense and it looks like there is more to it. May be you'd like to elaborate?


Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.


Topic Author
alpna
Registered Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:35 pm
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Why to give the program name in SYSTSIN.

Post by alpna » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:51 pm

Akatsukami wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:21 pm
Note there is no connection between program and plan; specifying a plan name does not indicate what program should use it.
Yes, there is no connection.

I also said to the interviewer that they need to be given there as it's a rule but he kept on insisting on it. And I felt my answer was not correct.



User avatar

Akatsukami
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Bloomington, IL

Re: Why to give the program name in SYSTSIN.

Post by Akatsukami » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:57 pm

Interviewers are often wrong.


"I come to the conclusion that, men loving according to their own will and fearing according to that of the prince, a wise prince should establish himself on that which is in his own control and not in that of others." -- Niccolò Machiavelli


Neeraj N
Registered Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:49 pm

Re: Why to give the program name in SYSTSIN.

Post by Neeraj N » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:39 pm

PLAN and program names both are required. If the program name is not given in SYSTIN where else can it be given?



Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Interview Questions.”