How can we check the version of Syncsort installed on mainframe?

SyncSort's Sort Product, SyncTool for z/OS, SYNCINIT and SYNCLIST.

Topic author
Ram Charan
Registered Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:13 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

How can we check the version of Syncsort installed on mainframe?

Postby Ram Charan » Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:02 pm

Hello,

How can we check the version of Sync Sort installed on our mainframe? Is there any command to know that?
On the Forum, I saw some syncsort commands and tried to use them but they did not work. I suspect this could be because of the older version of Syncsort Software which is installed on the mainframe here.
If it is so I'd like to check it and let my manager and client know about it. But, how do we check the version of Sync Sort installed on our mainframe?



Tags:


nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 543
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: How can we check the version of Syncsort installed on mainframe?

Postby nicc » Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:02 pm

Look at the report produced by syncsort. The very first thing it does is tell you its version.


Regards
Nic


Topic author
Ram Charan
Registered Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:13 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How can we check the version of Syncsort installed on mainframe?

Postby Ram Charan » Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:12 pm

nicc wrote:Look at the report produced by syncsort. The very first thing it does is tell you its version.

What are you calling a report? You mean the messages in SYSOUT ?




nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 543
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: How can we check the version of Syncsort installed on mainframe?

Postby nicc » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:05 pm

What else does Syncsort report on? Its diagnostics messages are its report on the execution undertaken.
This further question suggests that you have not even tried my suggestion - so what is the point of asking if you are not going to act upon it?


Regards
Nic

User avatar

Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Has thanked: 151 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: How can we check the version of Syncsort installed on mainframe?

Postby Anuj Dhawan » Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:55 pm

Submit this job and see the messages in SYSOUT and that's what nicc has said:


Code: Select all

//S1 EXEC PGM=ICEMAN
//SYSOUT   DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD *
RECORD
/*
//SORTOUT DD DUMMY
//SYSIN   DD   *
 OPTION COPY
/*


Thanks,
Anuj


Topic author
Ram Charan
Registered Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:13 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How can we check the version of Syncsort installed on mainframe?

Postby Ram Charan » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:01 pm

Thanks Anuj and nicc.




Return to “SyncSort, SyncTool, SyncGener.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests