Change the retun code using DFSort.

IBM's Sort Product, ICETOOL, ICEMAN and ICEGENER.
Post Reply
Ninand Pa
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:29 pm

Change the retun code using DFSort.

Post by Ninand Pa »

Hi,

We have a job which has a file-aid step. With this sep we'd check if the input is empty. If the file is empty the job gives back a return code of 8. We need to chage this job to a sort job.

I tested the same functionality with DFSORT with an empty file but it gave me a return code of 0. To get over it we used NULLOFL=RC4 but it did not allow NULLOFL=RC8. Then how can I do it, please help.
William Collins
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:24 pm

Re: Change the retun code using DFSort.

Post by William Collins »

Change the test of the CC/RC to 0 or 4 or 16, or continue with File-Aid or just give up.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2801
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: Change the retun code using DFSort.

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Hi William,

Can't we use this, if ICETOOL is a choice. I'm just 'out of work' so can't really test it.

Code: Select all

//STEP01 EXEC PGM=ICETOOL 
//TOOLMSG  DD SYSOUT=*      
//DFSMSG   DD SYSOUT=*      
//IN       DD DSN=input empty file, 
//            DISP=SHR 
//TOOLIN   DD * 
  COUNT FROM(IN) EMPTY RC8 
//*
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
William Collins
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:24 pm

Re: Change the retun code using DFSort.

Post by William Collins »

Yes, if another step added is OK (or if the entire code can be subsumed within a USING of COUNT in some dummied-up manner) but it would be more efficient in that case to use IDCAMS to do the setting. Have the RC4 set off the IDCAMS which then sets to 8 which then sets off (or not) the original next (or not) step.

So, not really in this case.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2801
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: Change the retun code using DFSort.

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Make sense. I was just thinking too much about 'sortcentric' solution! :)
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Post Reply

Create an account or sign in to join the discussion

You need to be a member in order to post a reply

Create an account

Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute

Register

Sign in

Return to “IBM DFSort, ICETOOL, ICEMAN, ICEGENER.”