Limit to pass the data in COBOL using SYSIN?

JES2/3, JCL, utilities.

Topic author
utkarsh
Registered Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:32 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Limit to pass the data in COBOL using SYSIN?

Postby utkarsh » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:28 pm

Hi,

Can someone please help me to know that what is the limit to pass the data from SYSIN to COBOL? I'm not sure if it's 137 characters?



Online

enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 822
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Limit to pass the data in COBOL using SYSIN?

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:30 pm

the buzzword is device independence
a program will not be aware of the source of a PS dataset

so COBOL has NOTHING to do with the record length

it depends on the way You <submit> the jcl

see here
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... ters9.html


moved to the JCL section


cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)

Online
User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: East Dubuque Illinois
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 90 times

Re: Limit to pass the data in COBOL using SYSIN?

Postby Robert Sample » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:31 pm

I'm not sure if it's 137 characters?
It is good that you are not sure, because the limit is not 137 characters. As stated by enrico, the actual limit varies by how the job is submitted, whether the site uses JES2 or JES3, and site-dependent parameters.




Return to “JCL - Job Control Language.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest