Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

JES2/3, JCL, utilities.

Topic author
Disha Shetty
Registered Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

Postby Disha Shetty » Thu Aug 04, 2016 2:42 pm

Hi

I was seaching on google and got a post whcih goes like this:

Do not specify TIME=1440 on your job - even if your site doesn't automatically flush your job (many do). TIME=1440 is not a proper choice for programmers to make.

If you are trying to prevent a time-out abend, see your systems support or operations people. Your site probably has different job classes for different resources required. There may be a class already defined that will accomodate your cpu time requirement. If not, they can tell you what you need to do.

It would be good to determine just why the amount cpu time is needed. If your job processes many millions of records, it may very well not run in the same class that supports compiles and small testing.


Why 1440 is not allowed?



Online
User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: East Dubuque Illinois
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 90 times

Re: Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:07 pm

Because TIME=1440 is telling z/OS that this job can use as much CPU time as it wants. So if the job runs for the next six weeks, it still won't get timed out.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image




Marcels68
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:52 pm

Re: Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

Postby Marcels68 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:54 pm

The modern version of TIME=1440 is TIME=NOLIMIT



User avatar

Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2393
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

Postby Anuj Dhawan » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:21 pm

Marcels68 wrote:Source of the post TIME=NOLIMIT
Pardon my ignorance but what is modern about it? I have used it around 11 years back! :yes:

Said that, do I sound old now! :D

The topic author is actually asking about why TIME=1440 is not allowed in production? And for that matter, TIME=NOLIMIT is just instructing exactly the same to system and so, as such, is not welcomed; and Robert has told why it is not a good practice.


Thanks,
Anuj


Shahid
Registered Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:00 am
Has thanked: 12 times

Re: Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

Postby Shahid » Mon Aug 08, 2016 1:36 pm

So TIME=1440 and TIME=NOLIMIT are equal? Or they are different? If they are different when should we use which parameter?



Online
User avatar

Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: East Dubuque Illinois
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 90 times

Re: Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

Postby Robert Sample » Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:39 pm

The manual tells you they are the same and either can be used.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image




Topic author
Disha Shetty
Registered Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Using TIME=1440 in JCL.

Postby Disha Shetty » Thu Aug 11, 2016 8:33 pm

Thanks for all the answers.




Return to “JCL - Job Control Language.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest