what is "DD DSN=&CARDLIB(UTTS9)" and "EXEC PGM=MCIABEND,COND"

JES2/3, JCL, utilities.
demecarv
Registered Member

what is "DD DSN=&CARDLIB(UTTS9)" and "EXEC PGM=MCIABEND,COND"

Post by demecarv »

I am Java developer and I am very new in TSO and JCL. I have to move some files from Development mainframe to Production Mainframe. I learned recently how to move files from my local PC to Dev. Mainframe via certain FTP tool named here Connection Central. I learned recently how to browse in Mainframe via OpenText Host Explorer but, in Prod I have only permission to read files (I can't download or upload). There is certain JCL script created by someone else in order to copy files from Dev to Prod but it is not working as expected neither this person is reachable so, I am trying hard to understand.
The main step is:

Code: Select all

//STEP010  EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSPRT DD  SYSOUT=*
//STDOUT   DD  SYSOUT=*
//STDERR   DD  SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSIN  DD  DSN=&CARDLIB(UTTS6272),DISP=SHR
//MCIA010  EXEC PGM=MCIABEND,COND=(0,EQ,STEP010)
By reading the MVS JCL User's guide, I got a basic idea how it works.
1 - PGM=IKJEFT01 -> aimed to allow TSO/E copy command
2 - Sysout=* -> I guess it prints in somewhere the logs
3 - //some_word -> just an alias to the command line
4 - DD -> type of statement
5 - DISP=SHR -> a command informing that the file can be read by multiple jobs at same time
6 - EXEC PGM=MCIABEND -> the execution of some program within MVS but how to find MCIABEND so I can read it?
That is all I could understand after many hours reading the manual. Could someone explain for a begginer what is happening in this snippet and inform what might be UTTS6272 and MCIABEND and how can I find them in UNIX via OpenText? I know it is impossible to someone describe depeely but I just need some basic idea so I can focus in more proper topics.