How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Time Sharing Option, Interactive System Productivity Facility and REstructured eXtended eXecutor

Moderator: mickeydusaor

Post Reply
User avatar
Akshya Chopra
Registered Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:32 pm
Algeria

How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Post by Akshya Chopra »

Hi,

Can someone please guide me that how can I allocate my REXX to SYSPROC. And make it available to me and others every time I login.

Thanks,
zprogrammer
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 588
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:53 am
Location: Mars

Re: How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Post by zprogrammer »

Enter "TSO ISRDDN" in command line

It would get you to the scree when you could see the libraries allocated to SYSPROC

So what you need to do is to make your code to be present in those library
zprogrammer
User avatar
Akshya Chopra
Registered Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:32 pm
Algeria

Re: How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Post by Akshya Chopra »

And how to do that?
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

At most of the sites I've used the below lines of code to concatenate a user REXX to the SYSPROC and it works great, but yes if you're not aware of site policies then it's advisable to touch base with your support team and they might just be kind to you:

Code: Select all

/* REXX */                                          
"ALLOC F(MYPDS) DA('HLQ.SLQ.EXEC') SHR REU"        
"ALLOC F(MYPDS1) DA('HLQ.SLQ.PANELS') SHR REU"      
CALL BPXWDYN "CONCAT DDLIST(SYSPROC,MYPDS) MSG(2)" 
CALL BPXWDYN "CONCAT DDLIST(ISPPLIB,MYPDS1) MSG(2)" 
EXIT 0
In this 'HLQ.SLQ.EXEC' is the PDS having REXX code (tools) of my choice and 'HLQ.SLQ.PANELS' will have ISPF panels if you've created some of them.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
dick scherrer
Former Team Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:43 pm

Re: How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Post by dick scherrer »

Talk with your technical support and ask how this is done in your shop.

It will build goodwill and will possibly prevent their distress if you are just muddling about . . .
Hope this helps,
d
User avatar
Akshya Chopra
Registered Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:32 pm
Algeria

Re: How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Post by Akshya Chopra »

Thanks Anuj, this worked for me.

Thanks Dick.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to allocate REXX to SYSPROC?

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Thanks for the feedback.

Good Luck! :)
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Post Reply

Create an account or sign in to join the discussion

You need to be a member in order to post a reply

Create an account

Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute

Register

Sign in

Return to “TSO, ISPF & REXX (Do you still do CLIST?!).”