Know the OS version using a TSO command.

Time Sharing Option, Interactive System Productivity Facility and REstructured eXtended eXecutor

Moderator: mickeydusaor

Eklavya Bharti

Know the OS version using a TSO command.

Post by Eklavya Bharti »

We have been told that our shop is upgraded zOS 2.1. As a programmer I feel dumb that what is in it for me. At minimum I would like to know where the version informationis stored. What is the way to find out the version we are using of operating system?

Thanks!
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Re: Know the OS version using a TSO command.

Post by Robert Sample »

What is the way to find out the version we are using of operating system?
1. Talk to your site support group -- they installed it, they know it.

2. If you can issue console commands (not many application programmers can), D IPLINFO will give you the z/OS version.

3. If you have access to a CICS region, and can use the CECI transaction (not all sites allow application programmers access to CECI), you can do CECI INQUIRE SYSTEM and one of the returned variables has the z/OS level.

I don't know of any TSO command that will return the z/OS version. There are some third-party software that can be used in TSO to get this information, but since they cost money not all sites use them. That being said, you can (indirectly) find out by looking at the primary menu panel of ISPF. If your STATUS is Session, on the right side of the primary menu panel will be displayed various values. The final value is RELEASE. If the value is ISPF 7.1, you are on a z/OS 2.1 system. The ISPF release varies by z/OS version.

However, the bottom line is that your BEST source for this information or any other information like it is your site support group.
Akatsukami
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by Akatsukami »

The Rexx external function MVSVAR will return this information in variable SYSOPSYS.