Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Time Sharing Option, Interactive System Productivity Facility and REstructured eXtended eXecutor

Moderator: mickeydusaor

Previous topicNext topic

Topic author
Bethany
Registered Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Post by Bethany » Thu Sep 10, 2015 2:04 pm

Hello,

If I've made some changes in a dataset while it was opened in View mode using ISPF 3.4, is it possible to save it now. I don't want to loose the chanegs I made.




enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Post by enrico-sorichetti » Thu Sep 10, 2015 2:32 pm

the subject has been discussed and flamed about gazillions of times ,
IBM added the VIEW facility to let the user make temporary changes to a <source> without the risk of clobbering the original
so why would You want to circumvent that ?


cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)


nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm

Re: Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Post by nicc » Thu Sep 10, 2015 3:28 pm

NOT a JCL question - moving topic.

Also, read your Help.


Regards
Nic


zprogrammer
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:53 am
Location: Mars

Re: Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Post by zprogrammer » Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:38 am

These options might help

1.CUT the contents and paste it back in edit mode.
or
2.Check on the REPLACE ISPF macro


zprogrammer


nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm

Re: Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Post by nicc » Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:57 pm

It's "lose" not "loose" - Lose as in Lost, loose as in loose shoelace.

cc on first and last lines, create/replace in command line - all as per the documentation.


Regards
Nic


Topic author
Bethany
Registered Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Post by Bethany » Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:56 am

nicc wrote: It's "lose" not "loose" - Lose as in Lost, loose as in loose shoelace.

cc on first and last lines, create/replace in command line - all as per the documentation.
Thanks, yes it's lose. I'm sorry.



User avatar

prino
Registered Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:15 am
Location: Oostende, Belgium

Re: Can we save a dataset in View mode?

Post by prino » Sat Apr 08, 2017 1:09 am

zprogrammer wrote:2.Check on the REPLACE ISPF macro
There is no ISPF REPLACE macro.


Robert AH Prins
robertahprins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy

Previous topicNext topic

Return to “TSO, ISPF & REXX (Do you still do CLIST?!).”