What AMODE is in use?

OS/VS COBOL, COBOL II, Enterprise COBOL for z/OS. OpenCOBOL and OOCobol.
Post Reply
pravin kumar
Registered Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:17 am

What AMODE is in use?

Post by pravin kumar »

Hi,

I'm looking at the compile listing of a program and found two occurances of the AMODE as following:

Code: Select all

*** O P E R A T I O N   S U M M A R Y   R E P O R T *** 

PROCESSING OPTIONS:
.
ALIGN2              NO         
AMODE               UNSPECIFIED
CALL                YES        
CASE                UPPER      
COMPAT              UNSPECIFIED
COMPRESS            AUTO       
DCBS                NO         
DYNAM               NO         
EXTATTR             UNSPECIFIED
EXITS:              NONE       
FILL                NONE       
GID                 UNSPECIFIED
.
and later like this:

Code: Select all

SAVE MODULE ATTRIBUTES:    
                           
   AC                  000 
   AMODE                31 
   COMPRESSION         NONE
   DC                  NO  
   EDITABLE            YES 
.
.
How should I determine which AMODE is in use at execution time?
enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 826
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: What AMODE is in use?

Post by enrico-sorichetti »

AMODE UNSPECIFIED ==> You did not tell

AMODE 31 ==> the default was used

anyway what counts is the AMODE of the LOAD MODULE as set by the linkage editor/binder
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)
pravin kumar
Registered Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:17 am

Re: What AMODE is in use?

Post by pravin kumar »

enrico-sorichetti wrote:AMODE UNSPECIFIED ==> You did not tell
Please help me t understand this, i didnot quiote follow you. This is from a compile listing of a production program, I happened to see which written years back. As they use ISPW here, I think they have defined it in that. I mean I'll never see the JCL which was used but if I don't have that handy what is the best way to understand what was used while compiling?
pravin kumar
Registered Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:17 am

Re: What AMODE is in use?

Post by pravin kumar »

Is this an unanswerable outside my company?
Post Reply

Create an account or sign in to join the discussion

You need to be a member in order to post a reply

Create an account

Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute

Register

Sign in

Return to “IBM COBOL, GnuCOBOL (OpenCOBOL), OOCobol.”