Which variable type to choose among COMP, COMP-1, COMP-2 and COMP-3?

OS/VS COBOL, COBOL II, Enterprise COBOL for z/OS. OpenCOBOL and OOCobol.
Simmrith Kaur

Which variable type to choose among COMP, COMP-1, COMP-2 and COMP-3?

Post by Simmrith Kaur »

Hi,

I'm new to COBOL. Though I have written some programs. Most of them are enhancing an existing code, so it's easy to clone some new functionality. But when we write a new COBOL program, how to decide when to go for which variable type among COMP, COMP-1, COMP-2 and COMP-3? How do a final call on whether a varaible should be declared as COMP, COMP-1, COMP-2, COMP-3? What is the basis? Please help to understand this.

Any input is greatly appreciated.
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Re: Which variable type to choose among COMP, COMP-1, COMP-2 and COMP-3?

Post by Robert Sample »

COMP-1 and COMP-2 should only be used when you need floating-point values. They have limited precision and will not yield accurate results in some cases, so they tend to be less used in business programs (except for financial calculations).

COMP-3 variable are typically used for arithmetic calculations. COMP (or COMP-5) variables are typically used for subscripts. However there are many programs that use USAGE DISPLAY variable for arithmetic and subscripts; these programs are not wrong but they do incur additional overhead to convert the values to packed decimal or binary before use, and conversion back to USAGE DISPLAY after use. Unless there is a known performance issue, the efficiency of the various data types will not have much of an impact to a program.
Akatsukami
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by Akatsukami »